Massachusetts real estate salespersons requirements changing
Mar 2011 12

Big changes are scheduled to be implemented later this year that will make it harder for people to become licensed salespersons and brokers in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

According to the Mass.gov website:

On or about August 11, 2010, the Legislature approved a statutory amendment to Massachusetts General Law (MGL) Chapter 112, Section 87SS. As of June 1, 2011, the Board shall require the following:

1. Prior to the salesperson examination, a candidate for a salesperson license shall complete forty (40) hours of pre-licensure salesperson education.

2. Prior to the broker examination, a salesperson shall complete forty (40) hours of pre-licensure broker education AND must affiliate with a broker for three (3) years for a broker license.

Currently, candidates for the salespersons license need take only 24 hours of classes and candidates for the brokers license need take another 24 hours of classes plus be affiliated with an existing brokerage for just one year.

So, much tighter requirements.

The bottom line is, if you’ve been even thinking of a career in real estate, now is the time to act. At least take the class (it’s usually about $150) and take / pass the test (another $100?). You can then decide whether or not to go forward. And, the license doesn’t expire for four years, so you can always change your mind in the future.

If you’re already a licensed salesperson, I recommend becoming a broker, now. While you may never end up going out on your own as an agent, you at least will have that option without fulfilling the onerous new requirements.

The state’s website has a list of Authorized Massachusetts’ Real Estate Schools

Leave a Comment